31 Days of Halloween Day 23: The Walking Dead Season 5

31

Only 8 days until Halloween!

Throughout the month of October I’ll be posting once a day with something to get you into the Halloween spirit, including movie and book reviews, real haunted places, occult topics and more. Come back each day and join in the fun!

the-walking-dead-season-5

Being the cable cutter and all-around cheapskate, I rely on Netflix and Hulu to watch TV. Even though I love The Walking Dead, I have to admit that sometimes certain seasons where the characters hang around a farm and act like the end of the world isn’t happening are kind of disappointing, so I don’t go so far as to purchase them in advance through Amazon.

That being said, I have to admit that had I bought season 5 of The Walking Dead in advance, I would’ve felt satisfied with my purchase. It was great in just about every way. The plot of the show actually moved along quite a bit, we learned so much about several of the characters who before were pretty flat and admittedly boring, and the overall level of storytelling was so much better than in some seasons.

o-WALKING-DEAD-facebook

Before I get to any spoilers, let me just say that the cold opening of the first episode had my heart pumping big time. This show has done such a good job of making me believe that any of the characters could die at any moment, thanks to the shocking deaths that are at every turn. And there were some shockers in Season 5.

Spoilers beyond here **********************************************

First off, I thought that Eugene was full of crap from the moment he was introduced in season 4, so I felt incredibly validated once the truth came out. That also provided a great way to reveal more about Abraham’s ghosts, making him a more three-dimensional character than ever before.

I was afraid that the show would continue chasing its own tail as the characters continued to pretty much go in circles near Atlanta. Their moving on and striking out for Washington, D.C. was a big breath of fresh air and something that should’ve happened long ago.

Seeing the juxtaposition of the people who’ve been living in Alexandria with the members of Rick’s group was great, especially when they meet for an awkward party like there aren’t zombies all over or anarchist humans who would love to turn them all into zombies. Rather than just having Rick take over, I liked how everything played out at the end of the season as at least some people in the development saw that they couldn’t keep the outside world at bay forever.

Are you a Walking Dead fan?

What did you think of season 5?

Do you also believe Lori Grimes is the worst mother/wife ever?

Leave a comment below and join in the Halloween fun! We still have ­­­­­­8 more posts to go this month, so come back and see what else I have in store.

Leave a Reply

