31 Days of Halloween Day 26 – American Horror Story: Freak Show

31

Only 5 days until Halloween!

Throughout the month of October I’ll be posting once a day with something to get you into the Halloween spirit, including movie and book reviews, real haunted places, occult topics and more. Come back each day and join in the fun!

o-FREAK-SHOW-facebookI have to admit that I have mixed feelings about the American Horror Story anthology series. Most of the seasons start out pretty strong, build great momentum, and then everything falls apart at least somewhat with about three or four episodes left. Then the real horror part starts for me, as I watch the storytelling break down and the things that I loved get absolutely obliterated.

For this reason alone, I haven’t ever spent the money to buy each season on Amazon, like I’ve done with incredible shows like Breaking Bad. You see, I’m a cord cutter because I still don’t watch that much television, so paying for it each month is a complete waste – I can spend that money better on books and such.

o-AMERICAN-HORROR-STORY-FREAK-SHOW-EPISODE-1-facebook

So for the fourth season of the show, I waited for it to hit Netflix. I was intrigued at how Freak Show would be handled, but to be perfectly honest was only mildly interested after watching the first few episodes. I found Twisty to be pretty boring after a little bit, because while he was a homicidal clown, he didn’t really do that much and so was overall a flat character. Too much of the early episodes focused on him, I thought, but the way the writers wrapped up the character was nicely done, in my opinion.

Without giving anything away, I was pleasantly surprised that this time around, American Horror Story actually became better as the season went on. Instead of pouring everything brilliant into the first several episodes, the writers held some real gems back for the last few episodes, which kept the plot from sinking into repetitive or inane garbage.

o-BETTE-DOT-facebookI was also refreshed by the fact that the storytelling didn’t just revolve around how weird the freaks were, but instead showed how they were people, just like everyone else. While there wasn’t much paranormal to the episodes, it was still a good season and one I would recommend. Really thinking about it, I would even go so far as to say it was the best season of the show yet, which would have surprised me greatly when I first started watching it.

Are you a fan of American Horror Story?

Do you like homicidal clowns?

Leave a comment below and join in the Halloween fun! We still have ­­­­­­5 more posts to go this month, so come back and see what else I have in store.

Leave a Reply

