31 Days of Halloween Day 30 – Why Believe in the Paranormal?

31

Only 1 day until Halloween!

Throughout the month of October I’ll be posting once a day with something to get you into the Halloween spirit, including movie and book reviews, real haunted places, occult topics and more. Come back each day and join in the fun!

Writing and studying about the paranormal isn’t always an easy or fun thing to do. I keep myself planted firmly in the “real” world by writing on other topics, partly because at this time I can’t make a full-time income just writing about unexplained phenomena. Writing about other topics also provides a break, because dealing with paranormal topics constantly can be exhausting.

The longer I research the paranormal, the more of a skeptic I find myself becoming. I wouldn’t have expected such an outcome when I set out on this journey, but I run into scams all the time, and there seems to be no shortage of people who want to believe everything fraudsters claim. I guess such things give these individuals hope, while the scammers gain money, fame or a feeling of power.

Do I really believe in the paranormal? That’s a tricky, complicated question, even though for some it seems so straightforward. What does belief mean? For some, it signifies opening up and swallowing everything thrown your way, which I don’t see as a positive attribute. For me, believing in the paranormal is opening up your mind to the possibility that there are unexplained phenomena out there that one day we will hopefully understand.

I know that the very topic of the paranormal can be polarizing, just like religion, making some feel incredibly uncomfortable. It’s not fun for certain people to admit that there are things out there they don’t understand and maybe never will. Their reasons for feeling this way I’m sure are varied and complex, and I respect that. After all, I’ve gone through my own periods of questioning if even the things I’ve experienced were real or not.

When it comes down to it, the paranormal represents the ragged edge of humanity’s understanding. While so many cling to science these days for all of life’s answers, the reality is there is still much we don’t and can’t understand. That’s not me looking down on humankind or the wondrous advancements we’ve made scientifically, but rather acknowledging that in the grand scheme of things we are tiny and naive. Like I said before, such acknowledgements don’t go over well with quite a few people, hence their need to constantly disprove everything paranormal.

Halloween is a time when many turn their attention to weird phenomena, telling spooky stories in candlelight or watching movies that touch on the mysterious. For others like me, this journey of understanding things that defy understanding is a year-round activity. It might at times seem like a practice in futility, but in studying such phenomena I’ve found that I understand so much more about humans and society.

I believe in the paranormal, or the possibility that there are things we don’t entirely understand with modern science and technology. That does not mean I believe in all paranormal claims or theories, and it doesn’t mean I dismiss science and technology, but it does mean I have an open mind about what could be. There’s a difference, and it’s important to understand where that line is drawn.

Leave a comment below and join in the Halloween fun! We still have ­­­­­­1 more post to go this month, so come back and see what else I have in store.

Leave a Reply

