Priorities

I know plenty of people are saying it, but it’s true: 2016 has been one hell of a crappy year. I’m not waxing political or social in the least. On a personal level, 2016 has been turbulent. As a direct result, my fiction writing has suffered substantially.

Back when I was a graduate student, I took a class which focused exclusively on C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien. I remember reading a letter Tolkien had written, where he explained that because of certain urgent matters taking place in his career, he had to put his Middle Earth writings to the side for a while.

Maybe some people think Tolkien was crazy to do that, but it’s all a matter of priorities. I’m in the middle of reworking my first book, and have a strong desire to do an excellent job. At the same time, this past year has been filled with surprises, many of them unpleasant. I’ve had to table revising my book several times.

I want to do an excellent job on the second edition of Shadow House, so much that I’m willing to put it off so I can do it right. While I write full-time, I’m not a trust fund kid, so I must keep writing for clients and publications to pay the bills. It’s not easy, but I’m confident if I keep pushing on there will be a big payoff in the end. Writing all day every day has its benefits.

If money were no object, I’d write books 90 percent of the time, and maybe write some magazine articles or blog posts. That’s certainly not reality, so I toil on. Perhaps one day I’ll get 90 percent of my income from book sales, and then I can direct most of my energy in that direction.

In case I don’t get on here until the new year: goodbye 2016. You’ve been horrible on many levels, and I’m not sad to see you go. Perhaps I’ll have a bonfire in the mountains to celebrate. I have a feeling 2017 will be much better. If not, I just don’t want to know right now.

One thought on “Priorities

Leave a Reply

