A New Me

I’m always looking to grow and learn as a person and writer. Recently, I feel like I’m reaching a new level in the craft, and it’s strange. The process hurts, too. I don’t know quite how to explain it.

At the moment, I’m hammering out the new Gracie the Ghost Eater book, tentatively called Hunt for the Goblin Witch. An idea for the plot came to me, and at first I hated it, loathed it. But I couldn’t get it off my mind, so finally I worked the idea in and saw how it fit, which it did so with such completeness I was astounded. Yet each time i think about that element of the plot, my stomach twists, my heart rate quickens, and I shake my head. It’s so raw and real, and that’s how I know it’s the right move.

About two years ago, I tried to write the book, but got hung up after about a chapter or two, because something didn’t feel right. I’ve taken a new approach to prewriting, and I’ve done more of it than ever. The difference is I feel far more engaged in this story now, and I feel more familiar with the characters. All that extra work has made things more visceral at the core of this story, and that’s good. I promote my first Gracie novel as a book for all ages, and I definitely want this next one to be something adults would find entertaining to read, even if they don’t have kids.

I used to be so good and consistent at blogging, but this year especially I’ve fallen off the wagon completely. Life has been tough in many ways, and it’s changed me. I hope I’m transforming for the better, because that’s how I am. I’ll try to check in here more often and at least let everyone know I’m doing okay, staying busy and not giving up on the craft.

One thought on “A New Me

Leave a Reply

